Video: O leyda Gratiosa



of hartbreaking beauty...

The year is 587 BC; troops from Nebuchadnezzar ruins the city of Jerusalem and its holy temple.
The Jews are sentenced to a lengthy and hopeless exile. The drama is captured by the prophet Jeremiah in a series of heart-breaking lamentations; texts with a great deal of emotional expressiveness.

Centuries later these lamentations, amongst others, become part of the Catholic liturgy for Holy Week. In this function they served as an inspiration to many Renaissance and early Baroque composers.  Carolus Luython, a Flemish composer serving at the court of Prague at the time the Renaissance merged into the Baroque was likewise inspired by this music.  His seldom performed Lamentations have an intense beauty rooted in the late renaissance, but in which the emerging Baroque style is also present.

Luython’s lamentations form the core of a program which seeks to contrast different styles of elegy.  A thrilling encounter which highlights the universality of a musical genre full of emotion and intense beauty.

Passion concerto in cooperation with
Het Retorisch kwartet

Ali AlJedah (Vocals and percussion)

Sattar Al-Saadi (Nay, ud and percussion)

  • Friday, 13 March 2015, 8:15 pm
    Lutherse Kerk (Trinitatiskapel), Vriesestraat 22, 3311NR Dordrecht

  • Saturday, 14 March 2015, 8:15 pm
    Nederlands Hervormde kerk, Veneweg 188, 7946LN Wanneperveen

  • Sunday, 15 March 2015, 3:00 pm
    Martinuskerk, Kerkplein 1, 7231 AE Warnsveld, Netherlands

presale by Ticketscript € 10,- (excl. ticketfee)
at the checkout € 15,-
children under 12 free

Click here for the agenda

Recorder Orchestra Praetorius

Praetorius was founded in 1963 when Piet Kunst, recorder teacher at the music school in Leiden, formed a double quartet with eight advanced recorder students. Over time, this double quartet expanded to an ensemble of approximately twenty-five recorder players. Since 1989, the ensemble is an independent organization and is led by Piet’s son Norbert Kunst since 1996.

Recorder Orchestra Praetorius Leiden plays music from all eras. Compositions from the twentieth century,works from the Renaissance and Baroque, but also music from the romantic period. Many of these works have been especially arranged for Praetorius. Praetorius makes use of an array of different recorders, from sopranino to double bass. These instruments can be played in different occupation: high, called the 4' register (soprano - alto - tenor - bass) and low, the 8' register (tenor - bass - greatbas – double bass). By using these registers separately or together, a large variety of timbres is possible.

Over time Praetorius has executed many entertaining, exciting and innovative concerts and musical performances. This includes the programme 'Fandango', played in 2008, in which various collections of music from the courts of the Spanish Dukes played a role and which ended by the smashing ‘Tre Fontane’. In 2007, Praetorius literally occupied a large space for the programme ‘Ruimte’ (‘Space’) , for a festive Vesper in honor of John the Baptist. The audience was sitting in the middle of the music hall in between three choirs of recorder players, the ‘Cori Spezzati ’, which were playing a good distance apart.

Apart from these somewhat daring music choices, Praetorius is not afraid to perform the classics. So, in 2009, the famous composers Bach and Buxtehude were placed opposite each other in a collaboration with organist Stephen Taylor. In the programme ‘Countering Handel’ in January 2009, Praetorius had a beautiful musical theatre performance with singer Jan Kullman and mimeplayer Hakim Traïdia. The programme consisted of music from the famous operas of Handel: ‘Agrippina’ and ‘Rinaldo’. Finally, it was a long cherished wish of the ensemble to have a collaboration with recorder player Marion Verbruggen. In 2010 she played the solo of the famous A-minor Suite by Telemann, while Praetorius played in the role of the orchestra.